Proclaimation of Malaysia

Malaysia declared its 'Merdeka' independence on 31st August 1957 by forever taking down the British 'Union Jack' flag the night before, but only on 16th September 1963 that all the states declared their unity towards becoming a democratic states of Malaysia (including Singapore at that time).

Tun Abdul Rahman Entertaining Media during Malaysia Day Sept 16 1963

...DO HEREBY DECLARE AND PROCLAIM on behalf of the peoples of Malaysia that as from Sixteenth day of September in the year one thousand nine hundreds and sixty-three corresponding to the twentyeighth day of Rabi'ul Akhir in the year of Hijrah one thousand three hundreds and eighty-three, that MALAYSIA comprising the states of Pahang, Terengganu, Kedah, Johore, Negeri Sembilan, Kelantan, Selangor, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Malacca, Singapore, Sabah and Sarawak shall by the Grace of God, the Lord of the Universe, forever be an independent and sovereign democratic State founded upon liberty and Justice, ever seeking to defend and uphold peace and harmony among its peoples and to perpetuate peace among nations.

Proclaimation of Malaysia 1963 signed by Tunku Abdul Rahman

Mini documentary video about the origin of Malaysia Day currently being celebrated annually on 16th September.

Newer Post Older Post Home